carolanna

The moment you think your world is falling apart may just be the moment your world is coming together.

  • MY LORD GOD, I have no idea where I am going. I do not see the road ahead of me. I cannot know for certain where it will end. Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think that I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so. But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you. And I hope I have that desire in all that I am doing. I hope that I will never do anything apart from that desire. And I know that if I do this you will lead me by the right road though I may know nothing about it. Therefore will I trust you always though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death. I will not fear, for you are ever with me, and you will never leave me to face my perils alone. - Thomas Merton, "Thoughts in Solitude"

Denmark

Posted by carolanna on July 1, 2008

I think I’ll move to Denmark. Why not? Apparently, it’s the happiest country on earth. The US ranks 16th (story here)

The article talks about the baby boomer generation being the main reason we are not in the top 10. It seems they are “generally miserable compared to other generations”. Whew. Maybe I can stay in the US after all, seeing as I’m not a part of the baby boom generation.

I have to wonder what questions were asked in this survey, I’m sure it was very scientific. What makes people happy? What do people in Denmark do that make them “happier”? And more to the point, are they really happy? Or have they filled their lives with so much “stuff” they think they are happy? Maybe they really are happy. All those people, all around the world are happy but are they joyful?

That’s what I want. I want to be joyful. I know there are going to be days that I just don’t feel happy (a great example). No matter how I feel, emotionally, I want to be joyous. Joyous in my Savior, who loves me and who I love getting to know better each day. I love the mystery and I want to rejoice in that — to be joyous in that! I want to not feel sad when I’m left out of things or when I get my feelings hurt. I don’t want to allow people to hurt my feelings, I want to be joyous based on the things in my life that matter. I love my family (even when I’m frustrated) and I have the most amazing group of friends from California to DC and right in my own backyard (KOINONIA baby!). These are the things in life that matter, not the things that I let get to me.

One Response to “Denmark”

  1. Robin said

    I think that’s one of the things I love about you – even in your darkest times, you are truly joyful. Thanks for the Ellie shout-out.

    BTW, I love that the suggested related post is: Boys, booze, drugs, exams…

Leave a comment